Bella Travel

Praise be to the Farmacia

Leave a comment

One thing I’ve noticed about Italy is that they have great pharmacies.

No matter what your ailment, the Farmacia always has something to soothe, heal or beautify it.

This also goes for ailments that are slightly obscure.

I remember one time I was in Florence and I needed something for a rather embarrassing problem (which I won’t go into details about), and which forced me to go to a pharmacy.  Blushing furiously I stammered out my request starting with ‘Ho una problema’, so the woman knew it was serious (well I thought it was).

Anyway, she immediately produced the required item, then proceeded to matter of factly state the instructions whilst also conveying the right amount of professional sympathy. And it was all done without so much as snigger.

It has since made me believe a visit to a pharmacy in Italy is more beneficial and more comforting than a visit to a church.

Who needs spiritual benediction anway? Today when I was in Venice and I was stung by a bee, did God take away the pain? No. But there was a nearby pharmacy selling ‘Dopopuntura Gel Forte’.  I rest my case.

Author: Angela Pearse

Bella Travel is a travel blog by Angela Pearse, an Auckland based freelance copywriter, providing copywriting, editing and SEO copywriting for travel & tourism businesses & more (www.angelapearse.com). Angela is also the creator of Bella Italia (www.bellaitalia.co.nz) for travel tips, accommodation and locality reviews about Italy. Visit Bella Italia on Facebook (www.facebook.com/bellaitalia.co.nz) or Twitter (@bellaitalia_nz) for photos and news about Italy.

Leave a Reply

