Bella Travel

Wireless is a Girl’s Best Friend

Leave a comment

So after years of putting up with a clunky Compaq computer with no internet access, I find myself the proud owner of a netbook with wireless internet.

It’s like going from the nineteen hundreds to the noughties in one foul swoop.

The purchase of the netbook took place last week and I have to admit I didn’t take much notice of the ‘specs’. It’s small, I can carry it in my handbag and it’s cute. What else did I need to look for? Er..apparently RAM, Processing speed, battery life, screen width, whether my fingers fit the keypads etc. etc.

I wish I had taken more notice when a friend asked me about it’s storage space. I said it had 1GB and she nearly died laughing. “It’s small and perfectly formed,” I countered. “Yes but 1GB? Oh dear!”

This distressed me somewhat but on checking I discovered it had 250GB of storage space. Whew!

Getting my head around going wireless was another steep learning curve. But after a few attempts at getting into the free Wi-Fi at the local library, voila here I am! In the noughties as opposed to the nineteen hundreds, and feeling quite proud of myself. I’ve even looked up mobile sticks at Vodafone Italy so I can roam freely across the country blogging as I go in September. Well that’s the plan. Getting wireless in a different country could be a whole new blog post.

Meanwhile I just need to figure out how to reconfigure my keyboard so the @ symbol isn’t where the ” symbol is. Hmmmmmm…..help?

Author: Angela Pearse

Bella Travel is a travel blog by Angela Pearse, an Auckland based freelance copywriter, providing copywriting, editing and SEO copywriting for travel & tourism businesses & more (www.angelapearse.com). Angela is also the creator of Bella Italia (www.bellaitalia.co.nz) for travel tips, accommodation and locality reviews about Italy. Visit Bella Italia on Facebook (www.facebook.com/bellaitalia.co.nz) or Twitter (@bellaitalia_nz) for photos and news about Italy.

Leave a Reply

